20 ks in 1 hour 32 minutes and shady people

The inspiration from the article about how Da Costa trained to run the marathon in  2.06 was still with me then I got out for the long run on sunday. So I was decided to try to run with a high tempo. As usual I had prepared for my long run with loading my iPod with a couple of podcasts and some music. Unfortunally I forgot to charge the battery so after just two songs the iPod was silent.

I tried to put it away in the center back pocket in my tights while running, with the only result that it looked as if I was searching for something in my crack. I gave up and thought it would be easier to put it away if I stood still – the result people looked at me as if they were wondering why that runner was standing still and searching for something between his asscheeks. After 10 seconds of fibling arund with the earphonechord I finaly had the iPod and the earphones in my pocket and was able to continue. But now with an annoying bulge on my lower back. I’m not so sure how the designers of this tights were thinking then they put the pocket there they did.

Instead of letting my mind be occupied by listening to a podcast or music all I could think of now was the running. First my legs didn’t feel that good at all and I had to force myself to keep up a nice pace. But after 6-7 ks it felt easier and I could actually gain speed without any effort at all.

At the lake Trekanten I saw a couple of of guys with fishing rods and I was thinking that this spring or summer I have to come here to try and catch some fish myself and maybe bring some hot chocolate and sandwiches.

I guess that the pace on the flat was just slightly over 4,30 making me fantasize about beeing able to run the marathon at 3 hours, which I think is just whishful thinking. To beat my PB with a couple minutes – definitly. But to beat it with 20 minutes I guess is impossible.

At my way home then I came to the old industry area around Liljeholmsstranden I saw an old rusty Volvo with different colours on the doors stop and two guys in trainers and baseball hats stepped out of the car, brought their Dobberman dog and walked towards the area with semideserted buildings. This made my mind spin as I was trying to find a reason for these two men to be here in a sunday evening. The onlu conclusion I could get was that they must be into some shady bussiness. But at the same time they could have been wondering why a guy in tights and bright coloured T-shirt was breathing that heavy in this odd place.

The last 6 ks are quite hilly but I had no problem with keeping up with the good pace, well after the last and steepest my legs were a little powerless but I recovered in half a minute and had a good speed on the streets back home there I met a guy carrying a take away pizza. This made me long for a Kebab Pizza and the last minutes of running I tried to decide wether to run home and get some money to buy a pizza or cook some spaghetti to have with the left over tomato sauce from the day before. The spaghetti won a hard battle and I could stop my watch at the time of 1.32.40 making the avarage pace 4,38 min/km.

Soundtrack of the run:

Itchy Chin – Heavenly

Whammy – B52’s

(Low on battery)

2 responses to “20 ks in 1 hour 32 minutes and shady people

  1. If you set yourself a long term goal and follow a good training program such as the Da Costa training, I think you could make the impossible possible and join the sub 3 club!
    your still young enough to achieve it!

    • Thanks for the encouraging words.

      I’m sure that the tips and inspiration I get from your blog will help me improve a lot and only the future will know how far that will take me.

Leave a Reply

